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Alcoholic Beverage Taxes – County 
wine with less than 4% alcohol is not subject to the alco-
holic beverage excise tax.

spirits with carbonated or noncarbonated flavoring materi-
als. They contain at least 0.5% and not more than 21% 
alcohol by volume.

-
ing flavored, sparkling, or carbonated cider. It contains at 
least 0.5% and not more than 6% alcohol by weight.

liquors that contain more than 21% alcohol by volume.  

Rates
(R.C. 4301.421)

Cuyahoga County levies the maximum tax rates permit-
ted under state law, as shown in the table below. 

Exemptions
(R.C. 4301.421)

The tax does not apply to sacramental wine or to sales 
made to the federal government. 

Disposition of Revenue
(R.C. 4301.423)

The county receives 98% of revenues the month after 
the revenues are collected by the Department of Taxa-
tion. Two percent of beer, wine, and mixed beverage tax 
revenues are allocated to the Department of Taxation to 
administer the tax. 

Payment Dates
(R.C. 4301.422)

Returns and payments must be received by the last day 
of the month following the reporting period.

Cuyahoga County is the only county in the state that 
levies a separate local tax on alcoholic beverages – 
in 2008, the General Assembly prohibited localities 

from levying any new taxes on alcoholic beverages. How-
ever, in 2013, the General Assembly authorized Cuyahoga 
County to extend its current levy. Cuyahoga County levies 
the maximum rates specified in state law on gallons of 
beer, wine, mixed drinks, cider, and liquor. Revenues 
from these taxes (along with a portion of the county’s 
revenues from cigarette taxes) are used for construction 
and renovation costs for professional sports facilities in 
the county along with related economic development 
projects. 

   Alcoholic beverage taxes must be levied pursuant 
to a resolution adopted by the Board of County Com-
missioners and approved by a majority of voters in the 
county. Template ballot language is specified in state law. 
Cuyahoga County voters last approved an extension of 
their alcoholic beverage taxes (along with cigarette taxes) 
in May 2014, for a twenty-year period. In fiscal year 2014, 
a total of $11.2 million was collected in the permissive 
alcohol taxes, with $0.1 million deposited into the Depart-
ment of Taxation’s administration fund and the remainder 
to be distributed to Cuyahoga County.  

Taxpayer
(Ohio Revised Code 4301.422)

The tax is paid by manufacturers, importers, and 
wholesale distributors of beer, wine, cider, and mixed 
beverages (up to 21% alcohol by volume). The tax is also 
paid by the Ohio Department of Commerce’s Division of 
Liquor Control, the state’s sole purchaser and distributor 
of liquor containing more than 21% alcohol by volume. 

Tax Base
(R.C. 4301.421 and 4301.01)

The tax applies to beer, wine, mixed beverages, cider, 
and liquor, defined as follows:

and contains at least 0.5% but not more than 12% alcohol 
by volume.

excluding cider, consists of fermented juices of grapes, 
fruits or other agricultural products. It contains at least 
0.5% and not more than 21% alcohol by volume. By law, 

Table 1

Maximum rates established in state law for county 
alcoholic beverage taxes

Beverage Rate per gallon

Beer $0.16

Wine and mixed drinks $0.32

Cider $0.24

Liquor $3.00
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Special Provisions/Credits
(R.C. 4301.422)

Taxpayers receive a 2.5% discount for timely payment 
of taxes. 

Administration
(R.C. 4307.04)

The Tax Commissioner administers the taxes for beer, 
wine, and mixed beverages. The Division of Liquor Control 
in the Department of Commerce administers the taxes for 
liquor. 

Ohio Revised Code Citations
Sections 307.696, 307.697, 351.26, 4301.102, 4301.421, 

4301.422, 4301.423, 4301.424, and 4307.04

1986 General Assembly authorizes county 
sports facility liquor taxes.

1990 General Assembly authorizes county 
sports facility taxes on beer, wine, and 
mixed beverages and amends law on 
county sports facility liquor taxes. Later, 
Cuyahoga County voters enact taxes on 
beer, wine, and liquor at the maximum rate 
through July 31, 2004.

1995 General Assembly permits counties to 
enact alcoholic beverage taxes that do 
not take effect until a current levy expires. 
Cuyahoga County voters approve a ten-
year extension of beer, wine and liquor 
taxes, now due to expire July 31, 2014.

2008 General Assembly enacts House Bill 562, 
which includes a provision that prohibits 
future local taxes on alcoholic beverages. 

2013 General Assembly enacts House Bill 59, 
the general budget bill, which includes 
a provision that specifically authorizes 
Cuyahoga County to renew the county 
alcoholic beverage (and cigarette) taxes 
for up to 20 years, by adopting a resolution 
to do so by September 15, 2015, subject to 
voter approval. 

2014 Cuyahoga County voters approve (on May 
6), to extend the alcoholic beverages (and 
cigarette) taxes at current rates for 20 
years. 

Table 3

Collections from Alcoholic Beverages Taxes in Cuyahoga County

Fiscal Year Beer Wine and Mixed 
Beverages

Liquor State Admin Fee Total

2010 $4,087,377 $1,183,347 $5,091,900 $107,566 $10,470,190

2011 $4,308,590 $1,269,080 $5,131,429 $113,830 $10,822,929

2012 $4,207,330 $1,296,440 $5,299,406 $112,322 $10,915,498

2013 $3,999,744 $1,264,346 $5,533,727 $107,430 $10,905,247

2014 $4,020,209 $1,305,882 $5,738,612 $108,696 $11,173,399

Source: Ohio Office of Budget and Management fiscal reports.

Table 2

Cuyahoga County Beer & Wine Liabilities Reported on Returns, 
Fiscal Years 2012-2014

Type of Beverage 2012 2013 2014

Beer $4,293,194 $4,147,193 $3,974,425

Wine $1,322,898 $1,307,209 $1,262,308

Total $5,616,092 $5,454,402 $5,236,734

Source: Department of Taxation, as reported on tax returns.
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