Sales and Use Tax

revenue. It is also an important revenue source for

county governments and regional transit authorities,
which are authorized to levy sales and use taxes that “pig-
gyback” on the state sales and use tax.The department
administers both the state sales and use tax and local
piggyback taxes.

The Ohio sales tax dates back to 1934, when the Gen-
eral Assembly enacted a three percent sales tax effective
January 1935.The use tax followed a year later. In 1967,
the legislature adopted a four percent state rate and, for
the first time, authorized county governments to levy pig-
gyback taxes, subject to repeal by a majority vote of the
county electorate. In 1974, transit authorities were also
granted the authority, with voter approval, to levy piggy-
back taxes.

The current state sales and use tax rate, 5.75 percent,
was established on Sept. 1, 2013. During fiscal year 2015,
the tax generated more than $10.1 billion in revenue. Of
that amount approximately 98.2 percent or about $10.0
billion was distributed to the General Revenue Fund.The
balance was distributed to the Public Library Fund and At-
torney General Claims Fund.

The department collects the combined state and local
piggback taxes and then distributes the local share of rev-
enue directly to the counties and transit authorities. The
same exemptions and exceptions, credits and payment
dates apply to the permissive taxes as to the state tax. See
Sales and Use Tax - Counties and Transit Authorities for a
discussion of piggyback taxes.

Ohio is a full member of the Streamlined Sales Tax Proj-
ect (SSTP). SSTP member states are in compliance with
all provisions of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agree
ment. The Agreement simplifies and modernizes sales
tax administration to substantially reduce the burden of
tax compliance. Membership makes it easier for persons
making sales in multiple states to voluntarily collect and
remit sales tax to member states.

The sales and use tax is the state’s primary source of

Taxpayer
(Ohio Revised Code 5739.01, 5739.03, 5739.031, 5739.17, 5741.01)

With limited exceptions, the general rule is the sales
tax imposed is paid by the consumer to the vendor who
collects the tax as a trustee for the State of Ohio. Any
person who makes a retail sale subject to tax, or stores,
uses, or consumes tangible personal property, or realizes

a benefit in this state of any taxable service on which sales
tax has not been paid is required to file a return and remit
the sales or use tax due. See Exhibit 1 for a description of
taxpayers and applicable vendor’s licenses.

Tax Base
(R.C. 5739.01, 5741.01)

State, county and transit authority sales and use taxes
apply to all retail sales of tangible personal property that
are not specifically exempt. The tax also applies to the
rental of tangible personal property, the rental of hotel
rooms by transient guests and the sales of the following
specified services:

e repair of tangible personal property;

e installation of tangible personal property;

e washing, cleaning, waxing, polishing and painting of

a motor vehicle;
e Jaundry and dry cleaning services;

e automatic data processing, computer services and
electronic information services used in business;

e telecommunications services;

e lawn care and landscaping services;

e private investigation and security services;

e building maintenance and janitorial services;

e employment services and employment placement
services;

e exterminating services;

e physical fitness facility services;

e recreation and sports club services;
e mobile telecommunications services;
e satellite broadcasting services;

e personal care services;

e transportation of persons by motor vehicle or aircraft
entirely within this state;

e motor vehicle towing services;
e snow removal services; and
e electronic publishing services.

The tax also applies to all transactions by which:

e a warranty, maintenance or service contract is, or is
to be, provided; and all transactions by which tan-
gible personal property is, or is to be, stored;

* health care services are paid for or reimbursed, pro-
vided, delivered, arranged for, or otherwise made
available by a Medicaid health insuring corporation
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Exhibit 1
Sales and Use Taxpayers and License, Permit or Account Types
Taxpayer Cost of License Description
Vendor $25 Each person or business establishment located in Ohio making retail sales.
Transient vendor $25 Retailer who makes sales in any county in which they have no fixed place of business. The license is
valid statewide.
Seller No fee Retailer located outside of Ohio who makes retail sales of property or services for storage, use or
consumption in Ohio.
Direct pay No fee Consumers authorized by the tax commissioner to remit tax directly to the state instead of to the vendor.
permit holder This authority can only be issued upon application if the commissioner determines that granting the
authority would improve compliance and increase the efficiency of the administration of the tax.
Clerks of court No fee Dealers remit taxes collected on sales of motor vehicles, watercraft, and outhoard motors to county
clerks of court when a title is issued. Clerks of court also collect the tax on casual sales of motor
vehicles, and sales of watercraft and outboard motors required to be titled. Clerks of court remit these
receipts to the state.
JobsOhio Beverage No fee Collects and remits sales tax paid on state-controlled spiritous liquor sold in state-contracted liquor
System agencies.
, Purchasers who have not paid the tax to a vendor or seller (in most cases for out-of-state transactions)
Consumers’ use tax No fee mak G
I —, ake payments directly to the state.
Streamlined sales and g fee Remote sellers in any other state that has passed laws conforming to the Strealined Sales Tax Agree-
streamlined use tax ment and that sell their products to customers in Ohio, using the Internet, mail order or telephone,
accounts without having a physical presence in Oho, collect and remit tax on such sales.

pursuant to the corporation’s contract with the state,
on and after Oct. 1, 2009;

e a specified digital product is provided for perma-
nent use or less than permanent use, regardless of
whether continued payment is required.

The use tax base is identical to that of the sales tax.
Use tax applies to the storage, use or other consumption
in this state of taxable tangible personal property and the
benefit realized in this state of any taxable service provid-
edif the vendor did not charge sales tax. For additional
information on the use tax, see the discussion in Rates,
below, under Sourcing.

Rates
(R.C. 5739.02, 5739.021, 5739.023, 5739.025, 5739.026, 5741.02, 5741.021-
5741.023)

State rate

The state sales and use tax rate has been 5.75 percent
since Sept. 1, 2013.
Local rates

Please see the section of this report entitled Sales and
Use Tax — Counties and Transit Authorities for a discussion
of permissive sales and use taxes.

Rate schedule

A combined sales tax schedule that includes local levies
is codified at R.C. 5739.025.

Sourcing

For taxable sales made by Ohio vendors and delivered
to an Ohio consumer, the sales tax rate is based on the
location where the vendor receives the order. Sales made
by out-of-state vendors are generally sourced to the loca-
tion where the consumer receives the tangible personal
property.

Exceptions include services where the rate is based on
the location where the service is received.

Special sourcing rules are in place for certain sales
of electronic information services, electronic publishing
services and software delivered electronically that are
concurrently available for use by the consumer in multiple
locations, for certain types of direct mail, for telecommuni-
cations services, and for leases.

Generally, the applicable use tax rate for all taxable
sales on which no sales tax was paid to the vendor is
based on the location of the purchaser.

Effective Jan. 1, 2010, a consumer has no additional use
tax liability on the purchase of tangible personal property
if the consumer paid sales tax to a vendor, regardless of
whether the amount of sales tax invoiced is calculated at
the rate where the consumer receives the property or the
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rate where the vendor received the order. Consumers do,
however, have a liability on purchases made out-of-state,
by catalog or via the Internet on which no sales tax has
been paid. Taxpayers with an annual consumer’s use tax
liability exceeding $1,000 must register for a consumer’s
use tax account and file returns. Other taxpayers can remit
consumer use tax either on state income tax returns or by
filing a use tax voluntary payment form.

Exemptions and Exceptions
(R.C. 5709.25, 5739.01, 5739.011, 5739.02, 5741.02, 6121.16, 6123.041)

The sales and use tax does not apply to:

copyrighted motion picture films unless solely used
for advertising;

service transactions in which tangible personal
property is an inconsequential element for which no
separate charge is made except for the services that
are specifically taxable (see Tax Base);

the value of motor vehicles traded in on new motor
vehicles sold by licensed new motor vehicle dealers;

tangible personal property or the benefit of a taxable
service to be resold in the form received;

the refundable deposit paid on returnable beverage
containers, cartons and cases;

tangible personal property used or consumed in
commercial fishing;

sales to U.S. government agencies;

sales to the state or any of its political subdivisions;
food for human consumption off the premises where
sold;

food sold to students in a dormitory, cafeteria, frater-
nity or sorority;

newspapers;

magazine subscriptions or magazines distributed as
controlled circulation publications (exemption for
magazine subscriptions repealed as of Jan. 1, 2014);

motor vehicle fuel subject to the state motor fuel
excise tax;

gas, water and steam delivered through pipes or
conduits by a utility company and electricity deliv-
ered through wires;

communications services provided by telegraph
companies;

casual sales except for motor vehicles, titled water-
craft and outboard motors, snowmobiles and all-
purpose-vehicles;

sales by churches and nonprofit organizations (ex-
cept for the sale of motor vehicles) provided that the
number of sales does not exceed six days each year;
transportation of persons or property, except the
transportation of persons specifically taxed as a ser-
vice;

sales to churches, nonprofit organizations included
under Internal Revenue Code (I.R.C.) 501(c)(3), non-
profit scientific research organizations, and to other
nonprofit charitable organizations;

sales to nonprofit hospitals and to those privately
held homes for the aged and hospital facilities that
are financed with public hospital bonds;

building and construction material sold to contrac-
tors for incorporation into real property constructed
for federal, state or local governments; for religious
and certain other nonprofit charitable institutions; for
horticulture and livestock structures; and for other
specified organizations and industries;

ships and rail rolling stock used in interstate or for-
eign commerce and material used for the repair, al-
teration, or propelling of such vessels;

material, machinery, equipment and other items
used in packaging property to be sold at retail;

all drugs for a human dispensed by prescription;
urine and blood testing materials used by diabet-
ics or persons with hypoglycemia; medical oxygen
and medical oxygen equipment for personal use;
hospital beds for personal use; and epoetin alfa for
persons with a medical disease;

prosthetic devices, durable medical equipment for
home use, or mobility enhancing equipment sold by
prescription for use by a human;

emergency and fire protection vehicles used ex-
clusively by nonprofit organizations in providing
emergency and fire protection services for political
subdivisions;

sales to nonprofit community centers and to produc-
ers offering presentations in music, dramatics, the
arts, and related fields to foster public interest and
education;

motor vehicles sold in Ohio to nonresidents for ti-
tling and use in most other states and Canada, pro-
vided that the other state or province does not col-
lect sales tax from Ohio residents for motor vehicles
purchased there or provided that the state offers a
credit to their residents for vehicles purchased in
Ohio;

property used in the preparation of eggs for sale;
sales of property for use in agricultural production;

property manufactured in Ohio and immediately
shipped outside the state for use in retail business, if
sold by the manufacturer to the retailer and shipped
in vehicles owned by the retailer;

sales to non-commercial, educational broadcasting
stations;

sales of animals by nonprofit animal shelters and
county humane societies;

items used in preserving, preparing, or serving food,
or material used in maintaining or cleaning these
items in a commercial food service operation;

tangible personal property used by holders of ex-
empt facility certificates issued by the tax commis-
sioner in air, noise, or water pollution control facili-
ties or in energy conversion, solid waste energy con-
version, or thermal efficiency improvement facilities;
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bulk water for residential use;

sales of equipment used in qualified research and
development;

sales and installation of agricultural land tile and the
sale and installation of portable grain bins to farm-
ers;

fees paid for the inspection of emission control
equipment on motor vehicles;

sales, leases, repairs and maintenance of motor ve-
hicles used primarily in providing highway transpor-
tation for hire;

sales to state headquarters of veterans’ organiza-
tions chartered by Congress or recognized by the
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs;

as defined by federal law, normally taxable food
items, such as soft drinks, sold to persons using
food stamps;

sales of tangible personal property and services
used directly in providing a telecommunications ser-
vice, mobile telecommunications service, or satellite
broadcasting service;

trade-ins on purchases of new or used watercraft or
outboard motors sold by licensed boat dealers;

property and labor used to fulfill a warranty or ser-
vice contract;

property used to store and handle purchased sales
inventory in a warehouse or similar facility, when
the inventory is primarily distributed outside Ohio to
retail stores of the person who owns or controls the
warehouse, to retail stores of an affiliated group of
which the owner of the warehouse is a member, or
by means of direct marketing;

sales of computer equipment made to qualifying cer-
tified teachers and used for educational purposes;

sales of certain tangible personal property made to
qualified motor racing teams;

sales of used manufactured and mobile homes;
sales of coin-operated car washes;

the provision of self-service laundry or dry cleaning
facilities;

intrastate transportation of persons by transit bus or
ambulance or by a person that holds a Certificate of
Public Convenience and Necessity under 49 United
States Code 41102;

sales of telecommunications services used directly
and primarily to perform the functions of a call cen-
ter;

sales of personal property and services used directly
and primarily in providing taxable intrastate trans-
portation of persons;

repair and replacement parts and repair and main-
tenance services for aircraft used primarily in a frac-
tional aircraft ownership program;

items used in acquiring, formatting, editing, storing
and disseminating data or information by electronic
publishing;

items used in the repair and maintenance of aircraft
and avionics systems for aircraft;

repair, remodeling, replacement or maintenance ser-
vices performed on aircraft or on an aircraft’s engine,
avionics, or component materials or parts;

sales of full flight simulators that are used for pilot
or flight-crew training and repair and replacement
parts or components for such full flight simulators;
and repair and maintenance services for full flight
simulators.

sales to or by a cable service provider, video service
provider or radio or television broadcast station reg-
ulated by the federal government of cable service or
programming, video service or programming, audio
service or programming, or electronically transferred
digital audiovisual or audio work;

Also, Ohio law:

permits a 25 percent sales tax refund for qualified
computer purchases for providers of electronic infor-
mation services;

caps at $800 the sales or use tax on any aircraft sold
as a fractional share aircraft; and

exempts from the use tax items that are held by a
person, but not for that person’s own use, and do-
nated to a charitable organization or to the state or
its political subdivisions for exclusively public pur-
poses.

Ohio law also includes direct use and primary use exemp-
tions. The direct use exemption applies to:

material incorporated as a component part of tan-
gible personal property produced for sale by manu-
facturing, assembling, processing or refining;

material used or consumed directly in the produc-
tion of tangible personal property by mining, farm-
ing, agriculture, horticulture, floriculture, or used in
the production of and exploration for crude oil and
natural gas;

tangible personal property used directly in rendering
a public utility service;

tangible personal property used or consumed in the
preparation for sale of printed and other reproduced
material and magazines distributed as controlled cir-
culation publications; and

certain property used in making retail sales includ-
ing: advertising material or catalogs used or con-
sumed in making retail sales that price and describe
property; preliminary materials sold to direct market-
ing vendors that will be used in printing advertising
material; printed matter that offers free merchandise
or chances to win sweepstakes prizes and includes
advertising material; equipment primarily used to
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accept orders for direct marketing retail sales; and
certain automatic food vending machines.

The primary use exemption refers to tangible personal
property used primarily in a manufacturing operation to
produce a product for sale.The primary use exemption
includes, but is not necessarily limited to, the following
items:

e production machinery and equipment that act upon
the product being produced;

e handling and transportation equipment (except li-
censed motor vehicles) used in moving property in
or between plants during the production process;

e property used in producing property that is used or
consumed in the production of a final product (use
on use);

e coke, gas, water, steam and similar substances used
in the manufacturing operation;

e catalysts, solvents, water, acids, oil and similar con-
sumables that interact with the product and are an
integral part of the manufacturing operation;

e property that is used to control, physically support,
or is otherwise necessary for functioning of machin-
ery and equipment and continuation of the manufac-
turing operation; and

e machinery and equipment, detergents, supplies, sol-
vents and any other tangible personal property lo-
cated at a manufacturing facility that are used in the
process of removing soil, dirt or other contaminants
from, or otherwise preparing in a suitable condi-
tion for use, towels, linens, articles of clothing, floor
mats, mop heads or other similar items, to be sup-
plied to a consumer as part of laundry and dry clean-
ing services, only when the towels, linens, articles
of clothing, floor mats, mop heads or other similar
items belong to the provider of the services.

e ORC section 122.175, allows a taxpayer that pro-
poses a capital improvement project for an eligible
computer data center in this state to apply to the
tax credit authority to enter into an agreement for a
complete or partial sales and use tax exemption on
computer data center equipment used at the eligible
computer data center.

Special Provisions
Cumulative filing (R.C. 5739.12 and Rule 5703-9-09)
TheTax Commissioner may require a vendor that oper-
ates from multiple locations or has multiple vendors’
licenses to report all liabilities on one consolidated return.
Vendors who have two or more places of business in Ohio
may, upon approval by the tax commissioner, file a single
monthly consolidated return reporting on one form the
information that normally is required to be reported from
each location.

Pre-arranged agreements (R.C. 5739.05 and Rule 5703-9-
08)

Vendors, such as fast food outlets, whose business is
of a nature that keeping records of which sales are taxable
and which are exempt would impose an unreasonable
burden, may be authorized by the tax commissioner to
pay an amount based on a test check conducted to deter-
mine the proportion of taxable sales to total sales. Busi-
nesses electing this method of payment still collect the tax
from customers at the time of purchase.

Pre-determined agreements (R.C. 5739.05 and Rule 5703-
9-08)

Vendors, such as coin-operated vending machine opera-
tors, whose business is of a nature that the collection of
the tax from consumers would impose an unreasonable
burden, may be authorized by the tax commissioner to
pay the tax at a pre-determined rate based on an analysis
of sales and prices.

Construction contractors (R.C. 5739.01 and Rule 5703-9-14)

Construction contractors are considered to be the con-
sumers of property incorporated into the construction of
or improvement to real property and, thus, are responsible
for paying the tax on such property.

Payment by EFT (R.C. 5739.032, 5739.122, 5741.121)
Vendors are required to remit payment by electronic
funds transfer (EFT) in cases where annual liability ex-
ceeds $75,000 per calendar year. Taxpayers required to
use this payment method will be notified by the depart-
ment. Vendors that do not meet the $75,000 threshold may
request authorization by the treasurer of state to remit tax
payments by EFT.

Accelerated tax payment (R.C. 5739.032, 5739.122,
5741.121)

Vendors required to remit tax by EFT are required to
make advance payment of 75 percent of each month’s an-
ticipated tax by the 23rd day of that month.These vendors
are still required to file a return by the 23rd of the next
month and pay the balance of their tax due, along with
that month’s accelerated payment.

Filing and Payment Dates
(R.C. 5739.031, 5739.12, 5739.17, 5741.12, Rule 5703-9-10)

See Exhibit 2 for a summary of filing and payment
dates.

Discount
(R.C. 5739.12, 5741.12)

Payments made on or before the due date entitle the
vendor to a discount of 0.75 percent of the amount due.
(Example: $5,000 tax due — $37.50 discount = $4,962.50 net
tax due.)
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Exhibit 2
Type of Sales Tax Returns and Filing Payment Dates

Type of Return Taxpayer Payment Date

Weekly Clerks of court Payment on Friday for taxes collected during the preceding week on

motor vehicles, and on watercraft and outboard motors titled.

Semi-monthly JobsOhio Beverage By the 15th day of the month for the tax collected during the last 15 days
System of the previous month, and by the last day of the month for

the tax collected during the first 15 days of the month, on spiritous
liquor sold in state-contracted liquor agency stores.

Monthly Vendors, sellers, By the 23rd day of the month following the close of the reporting period, which
transient vendors, is the previous month. Taxpayers whose annual liability in a prior year
direct pay permit exceeded $75,000 are required to pay by EFT. These same taxpayers
holders, consumer are required to make accelerated payments during each month.
use tax accounts,
streamlined sales
tax accounts,
streamlined use tax
accounts, delivery vendors

Quarterly Direct pay permit By the 23rd day of January, April, July, and October for their tax
holders, consumer liability during the preceding three months; this method of payment
use tax accounts may be authorized for accounts with less than $5,000 in quarterly

tax liability.

Semi-annual Vendors, sellers, By the 23rd day of the month following the close of each semi-annual period (pre-
transient vendors determined by filing schedule) for the tax collected during the preceding six-month
delivery vendors period; this method of payment may be authorized for vendors and sellers whose

tax liability is less than $1,200 per six-month period.

Disposition of Revenue
State sales and use tax (R.C. 5739.21, 5741.03)

See Chart 1 for a summary of revenue disposition.
During fiscal year 2015, the General Revenue Fund (GRF)
received approximately 98.2 percent of sales and use
tax revenues, and the Public Library Fund (PLF) received
approximately 1.8 percent.The amount of state sales tax
revenue credited to the PLF varies from year to year based
on a fixed percentage of all tax collections into the GRFE
One half of each monthly transfer from the GRF to the
PLF is credited against the state sales tax portion of GRF
revenues.

Administration
The Tax Commissioner administers the sales and use
tax for the state.

Ohio Revised Code Citations
Chapters 306, 307, 351, 5709, 5739, 5741 and 6111.

Recent Legislation

Am. Sub. H.B. 64, 131st General Assembly

The Act amended ORC 5739.02(B)(42)(p) to state that
sales tax does not apply to sales in which the purpose is
to provide a rented motor vehicle to the owner or lessee
of a motor vehicle that is being repaired or serviced, if the
purchaser is reimbursed for the cost of the rented motor
vehicle.

The Act amended ORC 5739.01(ll) to specify that tax-
able building maintenance and janitorial services do not
include sanitation services necessary for an establishment
described in 21 U.S.Code 608, including slaughtering,
meat canning, or similar establishments, for services to
comply with that section of the U.S. Code.

The Act amended ORC 5741.01(l) to redefine and expand
conditions under which substantial nexus is presumed,
and to provide a mechanism whereby a seller may rebut
the presumption of substantial nexus. One of the expan-
sions of conditions under which substantial nexus is
presumed includes “click-through” nexus, in which the
seller enters into an agreement with one or more residents
of the state under which the resident, for a commission or
other consideration, directly or indirectly refers potential
customers to the seller.This referral may occur by a link on
a web site, an in-person oral presentation, telemarketing,
or otherwise, provided the cumulative gross receipts from
sales to consumers referred to the seller by all such resi-
dents exceeded ten thousand dollars during the preceding
twelve months.

Am. Sub. S.B. 243, 130th General Assembly

Section 3 of the Act established a sales tax holiday in
which sales and use taxes do not apply to the sale or stor-
age, use, or other consumption of any of the following
items occurring on August 7, 8 or 9, 2015: an item of cloth-
ing, the price of which is $75 or less; an item of school
supplies, the price of which is $20 or less; or an item of
school instructional material, the price of which is $20 or
less.
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Am. Sub. H.B. 483, 130th General Assembly

The Act amended ORC 5739.05 to state that, upon appli-
cation, the commissioner may authorize a vendor to remit
sales tax on the basis of a prearranged agreement. The
proportions and ratios in a prearranged agreement shall
be determined either by a test check conducted by the
commissioner under terms and conditions agreed to by
the commissioner and the vendor, or by any other method
agreed upon by the vendor and the commissioner.

Am. Sub. H.B. 59, 130th General Assembly

The Act amended ORC 5739.01(B) to make all transac-
tions by which a specified digital product is provided for
permanent use or less than permanent use, included in
the definition of “sale” and “selling’; and therefore subject
to the sales and use tax.The Act goes on to define a speci-
fied digital product in ORC 5739.01(QQQ) as an electroni-
cally transferred digital audiovisual work, digital audio
work or digital book.

The Act amended ORC 5739.01(B) to exempt sales to or
by a cable service provider, video service provider, or ra-
dio or television broadcast station regulated by the federal
government of cable service or programming, video ser-
vice or programming, audio service or programming, or
electronically transferred digital audiovisual or audio work.

The Act amended ORC 5739.01(B) to exempt sales of
investment metal bullion and investment coins.

The Act amended ORC 5739.02(B) to repeal the exemp-
tion of magazine subscriptions from the sales and use tax.

The Act amended ORC section 122.175 to alter the defi-
nition of an eligible computer data center, for the purposes
of an application to the tax credit authority to enter into
an agreement for complete or partial sales and use tax
exemption on equipment used at an eligible computer
data center.

Am. Sub. H.B. 153, 129th General Assembly

The Act created ORC section 122.175, which allows a
taxpayer that proposes a capital improvement project for
an eligible computer data center in this state to apply to
the tax credit authority to enter into an agreement for a
complete or partial sales and use tax exemption on com-
puter data center equipment used at the eligible computer
data center.

Recent Court Decisions

Brown v. Levin, 2012-Ohio-5768

This was a class action suit seeking a refund of sales
tax paid on the amount received on motor vehicles traded
in as part of the federal “Cash for Clunkers” program.The
amount of consideration received from a third party, such
as “Cash for Clunkers,” is part of the tax base under Ohio
law.The taxpayer asserted that the amount received was

not part of the taxable price and he was due a refund of
sales tax paid on that amount. The tax commissioner chal-
lenged the complaint on jurisdictional grounds, asserting
that the taxpayer must first seek a refund of illegally or er-
roneously paid sales tax from the Department of Taxation
using the statutory procedure provided in R.C. 5739.07.The
Tenth District Court of Appeals agreed with the tax com-
missioner and remanded the case to the Common Pleas
Court with instructions to dismiss Brown’s complaint.

Bay Mechanical & Electrical Corp. v. Testa, 2012-Ohio-
4312

Bay Mechanical, a construction contractor, provided
plumbing, piping, HVAC, electrical wiring and other ser-
vices. In addition to its core employees, it relied on labor
provided by employees of Tradesmen International, Inc.
and Construction Labor Contractors. The tax commissioner
assessed use tax on these purchases finding that the
services were taxable employment services. Both the tax
commissioner and BTA rejected Bay Mechanical’s claim
that the services were not employment services under R.C.
5739.01(JJ)(3).

On appeal to the Supreme Court, Bay Mechanical
claimed that the contract language alone was sufficient to
establish the exception. In essence, Bay Mechanical’s view
was that the mere presence of the words “permanent”
and “indefinite” in the contracts established qualification
for the exception. Bay Mechanical did not provide any
documentation regarding the actual performance of the
contract during the audit process. The Court found that the
presence of “magic” words does not establish exception.
Rather, the Court reiterated the rules it set forth in H.R.
Options and Moore Personnel Services, and found that the
tax commissioner must review the facts and circumstanc-
es to determine if the laborers were in fact permanently
assigned.The Court affirmed the BTA's finding that the
summary evidence provided by Bay Mechanical did not
support permanent assignment stating, at |38:

Given that H.R. Options calls for the consideration of
facts-and-circumstances evidence, that the documenta-
tion was completely withheld on audit, and that it was not
offered as an exhibit at the BTA hearing, we conclude that
the BTA did not act unreasonably, arbitrarily, or unconscio-
nably when it disregarded the summary exhibits in spite
of the controller’s foundational testimony.

Gallenstein v. Testa, 2014-Ohio-98

This case involved the tax commissioner’s assessment
of use tax on a 44-foot Sea Ray Sundancer Gallenstein
purchased from a private owner in Indiana.The Board of
Tax Appeals affirmed the assessment and Gallenstein
appealed to the Supreme Court of Ohio asserting that her
registration of the boat in Ohio was not sufficient to create
a taxable nexus and she met all the requirements of the
transient use exception in R.C. 5741.02(C)(4).
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The Court agreed with Gallenstein and reversed the as-
sessment holding that:

Registering a boat in Ohio is not the same as being re-
quired to register a boat in Ohio because R.C. 1547.531(B)
(3) exempts from registration watercraft that have been
documented by the United States Coast Guard or its suc-
cessor as “temporarily transitting”” Id. at § 21. (emphasis in
original).

In so holding, the Court noted that from 2002 through
2004, Gallenstein, a Kentucky resident, operated her boat
in Ohio waters fewer than a dozen times, her principal
use was not on Ohio waters and the boat was docked in
Indiana.

Hoffman Properties Limited Partnership v. Testa, BTA
Case No. 2011-1372 (April 29, 2014) 2014 WL 2708161

In this case, the tax commissioner assessed use tax on
an irrigation system installed in a golf course. Hoffman as-
serted that the irrigation system was real property and not
subject to use tax. The Board of Tax Appeals (BTA) found
that “such specialized irrigation system was designed and
installed to address the unique needs associated with the
operation of a golf course and to primarily benefit the
ongoing business conducted on the land, i.e., the golf
course.” Therefore, the BTA affirmed the assessment hold-
ing “that the irrigation system purchased by Hoffman does
not constitute real property, but is personal property, i.e.,
a business fixture, and, as such, is subject to tax, pursuant
to R.C. 5701.03(B)”"

Refuse Transfer Systems, Inc. v. Levin, BTA Case No.
2009-1710 (Oct. 2, 2013), 2013 WL 6833199

The tax commissioner assessed use tax on ‘tippers’
used in Refuse Transfer’s business of hauling solid waste.
Refuse Transfer appealed to the BTA contending that “[a]
tipper is an integral component of the semi-tractor ve-
hicles in this case. Refuse trailers either have a built-in
hydraulic lift, or otherwise must be assisted by a tipper
machine. Without the tipper, the trailer does not serve the
purpose of hauling and delivery [of] the waste” The BTA
rejected Refuse Transfer’s claim holding that “the tipper
is used to unload the waste being transported, a function
that occurs after the transportation takes place, and as
such, remains subject to use tax.”

History of Major Changes

1967

Legislature increases rate to 4 percent and broad-
ens the tax base to include cigarettes and beer.

1971

Cigarettes again become exempt.

1980

State sales tax rate temporarily increased to 5
percent from Jan. 1 through June 30, 1981.

1981

HB 694 increased the state sales tax rate from 4
percent to 5.1 percent. Some vendors claimed
the new rate was incompatible with their regis-
ters. Subsequently, HB 552 lowered the state rate
to 5 percent. Other provisions of HB 694 stand,
including broadening the base to again include
cigarettes, as well as repairs and other selected
services. Other legislation establishes a credit for
trade-ins on new motor vehicles.

1983

Tax base broadened to include business data
processing services.

1987

Purchases made with food stamps exempted
from the tax; long distance telecommunications
service made taxable.

1990

Tangible personal property primarily used in
manufacturing operations exempted from the tax,
replacing a direct use exemption for manufactur-
ers. Also, a credit is established for trade-ins on
new or used watercraft.

1991

Tax base broadened to include lawn care, land-
scaping, private investigation and security ser-
vices.

1993

Legislature broadens tax base to include build-
ing cleaning and maintenance, exterminating,
employment agency and personnel supply ser-
vices as well as memberships in physical fitness
facilities and recreation and sports clubs. Exemp-
tions established for qualified property used in
research and development and for nonprofit
scientific organizations. Vendor discount lowered
from 1.5 percent to 0.75 percent of tax collections.

1994

Purchases made by organizations defined under
Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(3) exempted.

1997

Sale of personal computers and qualified equip-
ment to licensed and certified teachers exempted.

1934 | General Assembly enacts a 3 percent sales tax

effective Jan. 1, 1935.

1999

Sale of used manufactured and mobile homes
exempted, effective Jan. 1, 2000.

1935 | Legislature enacts a companion use tax effective

Jan. 1, 1936.

1936 | Ohio voters approve a constitutional amend-
ment exempting food for human consumption off

the premises where sold.

2000

For the purposes of the sales and use tax, sales
of new manufactured or mobile homes are no
longer considered motor vehicle sales.

1962 | The use of sales tax stamps is discontinued.

2000

Transient vendor's license fee reduced from $100
to $25. Definition of an exempt casual sale is
changed to include items that had been subject to
the taxing jurisdiction of another state.
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History of Major Changes - continued Comparisons with Other States

(As of June 30, 2015)

2001 The application of the_sales and use tax_on cer This table shows state sales tax rates, the maximum
tain leased motor Veh'CI?S’ watercraft, aircraft, combination of local sales tax rates in effect for each state,
and on_the Ieas_e of tangible personal pro_pertY and the highest combined state and local sales tax rate in
by businesses is changed so that the tax is paid effect for each state.
upon consummation of the lease.

2002 | Refunds allowed to be issued directly to con- State State Rate | Max. Max. Total Rate
sumers in cases where the consumer illegally or Local Rate
erroneously paid tax to the vendor. Georgia 2.00% 24.00% 8.00%

2003 | State sales tax rate temporarily increased from Indiana 7.00 7.00
5 percent to 6 percent from July 1, 2003 to June
30, 2005. Vendor discount temporarily increased Kentucky 6.00 6.00
from 0.75 percent to 0.9 percent during the same Michigan 6.00 6.00
period. Also: North Carolina 4.75 2.75 7.50
e tax base expanded to laundry and dry clean- Ohio 5.75 225 8.00
ing, satellite broadcasting service, personal care -
services, intrastate transportation of persons by Pennsylvania 6.00 2.00 8.00
motor vehicle or aircraft, towing service, snow Tennessee 7.00 2.75 9.75
removal and the storage of tangible personal Texas 6.25 200 8.25
property. .

e threshold increased for mandatory payment by West Virginia 6.00 1.00 1.00
electronic funds transfer from $60,000 annual tax
liability to $75,000, and such taxpayers begin pay-
ing on an accelerated schedule. Chart
e some definitions of food, beverages and medi- Distribution of Revenue from
cal supplies changed to conform to the provisions Sales & Use Tax
of the multistate Streamlined Sales Tax Project. Fiscal Year 2015
(figures in millions)

2005 | State sales tax rate reset to 5.5 percent and
temporary vendor discount rate of 0.9 percent Total: $10,147.6 million
extended through June 30, 2007 $]%t7h2£

2006 | Property withdrawn from inventory and donated 1'8%/ .
to a charitable organization exempted from the /,// -
use tax. \

2008 | General Assembly enacts HB 429, which allows \

Ohio to retain origin sourcing for most sales of \
tangible personal property made by Ohio vendors
to Ohio consumers effective Jan. 1, 2010. General Revenue Fund

2009 | Electronic filing of sales tax returns becomes $9§%§g.;/f
mandatory. General Assembly, in HB 1, applies
sales tax to monthly Medicaid premiums received
by health insuring corporations in lieu of a former
5.5 percent franchise fee. * Includes Public Library Fund and Attorney General Claims Fund.

2013 | State sales and use tax rate increased to 5.75 Source: OAKS State Financial Accounting
percent, effective Sept. 1, 2013.

2014 | Ohio became a full member of the Streamlined
Sales Tax Project.

2015 | HB 64 redefines and expands conditions under
which substantial nexus is presumed, and pro-
vides a mechanism whereby a seller may rebut
the presumption of substantial nexus.
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Table 1

State and Permissive (Local) Sales and Use Tax Collections, by Industrial Classification: July 2014 through June 2015 period'

Industrial Classification (North American Industry Classfication System) NAICs codes | Number of Business July-Dec. 2014 Jan.-June 2015 Total FY 2015
Entities, Jan. - June collections llecti llecti
2015°
Agriculture, Forestry, and Fishing 111100-115310 1,033 $2,534,050 $4,835,981 $7,370,031
Mining 211110-213110 210 11,588,491 10,307,695 21,896,186
Utilities (excluding telecommunications) 221100-221300 134 28,014,968 106,323,889 134,338,857
Construction 236110-238900 2,751 34,897,754 29,983,293 64,881,047
Manufacturing 311110-339900 11,919 217,056,410 209,781,448 426,837,858
Wholesale Trade 423100-425120 5,348 177,758,981 179,164,174 356,923,154
Retail Trade:
Motor Vehicle and Parts Dealers? 441110-441300 5,563 214,772,077 219,133,458 433,905,535
Furniture and Home Furnishings Stores 442110-442299 3,391 101,964,681 104,552,703 206,517,384
Electronic and Appliance Stores 443111-443130 2,454 165,258,443 174,161,746 339,420,189
Building Material and Garden Equipment & Supplies 444110-444200 6,756 443,000,102 396,182,718 839,182,820
Food and Beverage Stores 445110-445310 6,863 253,532,340 263,313,108 516,845,448
Health and Personal Care Stores 446110-446190 7,0M 116,837,395 129,241,605 246,079,000
Gasoline Stations 447100 1,406 86,911,946 84,264,690 171,176,636
Clothing and Clothing Accessories Stores 448110-448320 4,993 186,728,351 203,100,196 389,828,547
Sporting Goods, Hobby, Book, and Music Stores 451110-451220 5,988 105,963,724 111,441,054 217,404,778
General Merchandise Stores 452110-452900 4,463 597,074,299 611,232,750 1,208,307,049
Miscellaneous Store Retailers 453110-453990 24,476 420,041,048 440,871,173 860,912,221
Nonstore Retailers 454110-454390 6,017 92,268,682 111,997,336 204,266,018
Transportation and Warehousing 481000-493100 2,046 16,568,649 39,875,370 56,444,020
Information (including telecommunications) 511110-519100 3,452 405,614,433 417,492,568 823,107,001
Finance and Insurance 522110-525990 498 471,339,281 510,833,339 982,172,619
Real Estate, and Rental & Leasing of Property 531110-533110 3971 127,487,879 142,051,737 269,539,616
Professional, Scientific and Technical Services 541110-541990 8,341 104,155,402 106,863,476 211,018,878
Management of Companies (Holding Companies) 551111-551112 81 7,121,020 9,343,074 16,464,095
Administrative & Support Services, and Waste Mgmt. & Remediation Services 561110-562000 11,565 219,799,308 208,392,307 428,191,615
Education, Health Care and Social Assistance 611000-624410 3,700 14,578,157 14,991,611 29,569,767
Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation 711100-713900 3,999 38,903,309 32,551,644 71,454,953
Accommodation and Food Services 721110-722515 19,971 468,056,448 450,594,254 918,650,702
Other Services 811110-812990 19,874 144,838,489 149,429,369 294,267,858
Unclassified n/a 13,809 22,684,855 21,641,615 44,326,470
Total* 192,143 $5,297,350,974 $5,493,949,380 $10,791,300,353
Collections from Clerks of Court ® July - Dec. 2014 Jan. - June 2015 Total FY 2015
Collections Collecti Collecti
Collections from sales of motor vehicles $809,702,147 $800,517,649 $1,610,219,796
Collections from sales of watercraft 7,093,718 8,654,212 $15,747,930
Subtotal $816,795,864 $809,171,860 $1,625,967,724
Grand Total $6,114,146,838 $6,303,121,240 $12,417,268,078

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation

"Industrial classification data reflects the principal business activity of each business entity, generally based on the industrial (NAICs) code indicated on the entity’s sales or use tax
registration form. In addition, the tax collection data reflected in this table primarily emanates from businesses that operate as vendors or sellers, who collect sales or use taxes from
customers and remit such collections to the state. However, some businesses (such as manufacturers) remit the sales or use tax on their taxable purchases directly to the state instead
of to their vendors and sellers, usually by means of a direct payment or consumer use tax account. Amounts remitted by entities that have these types of accounts are also included in

this table.

2Indicates the number of separate legal entities (not the number of separate locations) that filed and remitted sales or use tax at any time during the January through June 2015 period.

'Tax collections from automobile and watercraft sales are listed separately, and are not assigned an Industrial Category. Such taxes are collected by the county clerks of court and then
remitted to the state. Since the information does not come from the remitting entities directly, there is no Industry Category information, or an entity count, associated with the values.

“The data in this table is extracted from sales and use tax returns. The totals in this table do not match actual collections because this table does not include clerks of courts tax collec-
tions and because the table does not reflect subsequent adjustments made to tax returns, as well as revenue generated from audit activity.
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Table 2

Total Sales and Use Tax Collections attributed to

membership in Streamlined Sales Tax'
(Includes State and Permissive Sales and Use Tax
Collections)
Fiscal Years 2011 - 2015
Fiscal Year Total collections attributed to membership in
Streamlined Sales Tax?

2011 $33,978,942
2012 37,198,356
2013 43,811,607
2014 69,861,947
2015 66,992,782

Source: Ohio Department of Taxation

' The state of Ohio became an associate member of Streamlined Sales Tax
on October 1, 2005, and became a full member on Jan. 1, 2014.

2 Total collections attributed to Ohio’s membership in Streamlined Sales Tax
are remitted under a variety of account types. Collections from all known
accounts associated with Streamlined Sales Tax are summarized here.
However, taxpayers may remit sales and use tax due to Ohio’s membership
with Streamlined Sales Tax without notifying the Department of Taxation of
this distinction.

Table 3
Sales & Use Tax
Number of Accounts by Type and Payment Schedule
(As of June 30, 2015)
Payment Schedule
Accounts Semi-Annual Monthly Quarterly Total
Vendor's 77,696 72,904 0 150,600
Master (accounts issued by the state) 1,113 4,898 0 6,011
Transient’ 40,180 12,550 0 52,730
Consumers’ 0 2,072 18,646 20,718
Direct Pay 0 316 119 435
Out-of-State 7,351 9,835 0 17,186
Streamlined Sales? 0 643 0 643
Streamlined Use? 0 0 0 0
Totals 126,340 103,218 18,765 248,323
Source: Ohio Department of Taxation
'Service and delivery are no longer separate categories and are included in the transient category.
2 A subset of total collections attributed to Ohio’s membership in Streamlined Sales Tax are remitted under Stream-
line Sales and Streamline Use accounts. The remainder of total collections attributed to Ohio’s membership in
Streamlined Sales Tax are remitted under other account types.




