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Insurance Tax — Domestic

Taxpayer
The tax is paid by insurance companies
organized under Ohio law.

Tax Base

The tax applies to the gross amount of
premiums from policies for Ohio risks by insur-
ance companies organized under Ohio law.

Rates
The tax rate is 1.4 percent of gross premi-
ums. The minimum tax is $250.

Major Exemptions

The tax does not apply to annuities, deposit-
type life insurance contract funds, Medicaid
payments received before Oct. 1, 2009, Medi-
care payments, small employer health care
alliance premiums, or federal crop insurance
premiums.

Revenue

(In Millions)
Fiscal General
Year Revenue Fund Other' Total
2009 $155.3 $4.7 $160.0
2010 161.7 49 166.6
2011 189.4 49 194.3
2012 189.1 5.0 194.1
2013 206.4 5.2 211.6

Disposition of Revenue

Revenue is distributed to the General
Revenue Fund, except for revenue from an ad-
ditional 0.75 percent tax on fire insurance (see
Special Provisions), which is distributed to the
Fire Marshal Fund.

Payment Dates
The Director of the Ohio Department of In-
surance certifies the tax liability of each insur-

1 The “Other” category includes distributions to the Fire Marshal Fund
and the Attorney General Claims Fund.

ance company to the Ohio Treasurer of State
by the first Monday of May. Within 20 days, the
Treasurer issues a tax bill with payment due 20
to 30 days from the date the tax bill is mailed.

The tax year is defined as the year in which
the tax returns are due. Tax liabilities are based
upon the previous year's business activity.

Special Provisions/Credits

Credit for smaller insurance groups: Insurer
groups with less than $75 million in total U.S.
premiums are eligible for a credit of up to
$200,000 against annual tax liability. The closer
groups get to the $75 million mark, the lower
the value of this credit.

Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Associa-
tion credit: Insurance companies receive a
tax credit for the full amount of assessments
paid into the Ohio Life and Health Guaranty
Association. By law, insurance companies are
required to be members of the association,
a not-for-profit association created by Ohio
law, as a condition of transacting business in
Ohio. Should a member become impaired or
insolvent, the other members are assessed by
the association at a rate of up to 2 percent of
gross premiums to protect policyholders of the
impaired or insolvent insurers.

Health insuring corporations: Domestic in-
surers that are health insuring corporations are
taxed at the rate of 1 percent of all premium
payments, excluding Medicare payments and
payments received for Medicaid prior to Oct.

1, 2009.

Fire insurance tax: An additional 0.75
percent tax is levied on the gross premiums
derived from fire insurance and that portion of
the premium reasonably allocable to fire insur-
ance included in other insurance coverages.

Sections of Ohio Revised Code

Sections 5725.18 to 5725.24, 5725.31,
5725.32, 5725.98, 5729.031, 1731.07, and
3737.71.

Responsibility for Administration
Director, Ohio Department of Insurance.
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History of Major Changes

1830

1831

1846

1852

1900

1933

197

1979

1981

1989

1997

General Assembly enacts a 4 percent tax on
dividends paid by insurance companies.

The 4 percent tax is repealed; legislature
enacts 5 percent tax on the dividends of
“bank, insurance and bridge companies.”

Legislature increases tax to 6 percent on
gross profits.

New Ohio constitution requires the taxation
of all real and personal property according
to uniform rule, and that corporation prop-
erty be subject to taxation, same as for in-
dividuals. Legislature requires all insurance
companies to list real property, tangible
property, money and credits for taxation as
property.

Legislature enacts a 0.5 percent tax on the
gross premiums of all insurance companies
to support the state fire marshal office. Two
years later, lawmakers limit this tax to fire
insurance companies.

General Assembly replaces tax on the
personal property of insurance companies
with a franchise tax on either 0.2 percent of
capital and surplus or 1.67 percent on gross
premiums, whichever is less.

Legislature increases rates to either 0.3 per-
cent of capital and surplus or 2.5 percent on
gross premiums, whichever is less.

Legislature replaces 0.5 percent tax on fire
insurance gross premiums with a new 0.75
percent tax.

Legislature increases tax rate on capital
and surplus to 0.6 percent.

The Ohio Life and Health Guaranty Associa-
tion is established, along with a 100 percent
tax credit for assessments paid by partici-
pating insurers.

General Assembly enacts House Bill 215,
which gradually phases in several major
changes between 1999 and 2003. Changes
include:
e A gradual reduction in the gross pre-
mium tax rate from 2.5 percentto 1.4
percent.

e A gradual elimination of the capital
and surplus tax base.

¢ A minimum tax of $250 (instead of
$200).

e An expansion of the tax credit for smaller in-
surer groups to include those with less than $75
million in U.S. premiums. Previously, the limit
had been $50 million.

Comparisons with Other States
(As of July 1, 2013)

In addition to the rates listed below, other
rates may apply to specific types of insurance
or insurance providers.

California

In general, the tax rate is 2.35 percent of
gross premiums. The rate on federally-exempt
pensions and profit-sharing plans is 0.5 per-
cent.

Florida

A 1 percent rate applies to annuities, a
0.75 percent rate applies to wet marine and
transportation insurance and a 1.6 percent rate
applies to self-insurers. All others pay 1.75 per-
cent of gross premiums. Florida's fire marshal
assessment is 1 percent.
lllinois

lllinois” insurance tax is, in general, 0.5 per-
cent of net premiums on policies written in the
state and 0.4 percent of health premiums."The
lllinois fire marshal tax is 1 percent.

Indiana

Companies are subject to Indiana’s gross
income tax unless they elect to pay a 1.3 per-
cent tax on gross premiums.The fire insurance
tax is 0.5 percent of gross premiums received
from Indiana-based policies.

Kentucky

In general, the rate is 2 percent of gross pre-
miums. Additionally, a 1.8 percent surcharge
applies on premiums for Kentucky risks. Fire
insurers pay an additional surtax of 0.75 per-
cent of premiums. Life insurance companies
may elect to pay a tax on intangible property
in lieu of the gross premiums tax of 1.5 percent
on life insurers.

Massachusetts

The rate is 2.28 percent of taxable gross
premiums.
Michigan

The rate is equal to 1.25 percent of gross
direct premiums.
New Jersey

In general, a rate of 1.05 percent applies to
the gross premiums on group accident and

1 Insurers are also subject to lllinois income and replacement taxes.
Certain offsets and limits may apply.
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health policies. A 2.1 percent rate applies to all
others.

New York

A 1.75 percent tax rate applies to all pre-
miums on accident and health contracts. A 2
percent rate applies to other, non-life insurance
premiums.’
Ohio

The rate is 1.4 percent of gross premiums.
An additional tax of 0.75 percent applies to fire
insurance gross premiums.
Pennsylvania

The rate is 2 percent of gross premiums.

Texas

Life, accident, and health insurers are taxed
at 1.75 percent of gross premiums; most others
are taxed at 1.6 percent.
West Virginia

Rates of 3 percent to 5.55 percent apply,
depending on insurance product lines.

1 Insurance companies also pay the New York corporate franchise tax.
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